top of page
Screenshot 2020-03-06 at 13.29.12.jp

Buildings & architecture

New methods and means enable cheap construction with greater comfort. With a new guest house we want to show the possibilities and effects that can be achieved with brick production on site.

Bauprojekte

Bauprojekte

Play Video

 What it is about? 

Most of the houses in Donomadé are traditional adobe buildings with a thatched roof. These buildings are ecological and relatively cool. But they also mean a lot of maintenance, are prone to rain and fire and only allow very limited designs. Last but not least, this type of construction is associated with poverty and backwardness for the people in Togo. The only alternative that can be found are houses made of cement and corrugated iron. Although these are more robust than clay, they are not ecological and have a significantly poorer indoor climate.

IMG_1731.JPG

The conventional construction allows little quality of life.

Cement production alone accounts for 7% of global CO2 emissions. The construction sector is facing major ecological challenges. With our crowdfunding projects, we support brick construction, which is used to build inexpensive and ecological houses that have a significantly higher quality of living than cement huts. The loam soil can also be extracted and pressed on site. So much less material is transported around and unnecessary costs can be saved. 

 What should be achieved? 

Crowdfunding_group photo.jpeg
K1024__MG_0153.JPG

Sustainability beyond agriculture.

Not only in agriculture, but also in construction, we try to achieve ecological modernization with local resources, which in the long term represents a better quality of life for the regional population and promotes added value in the region. In addition, the farm itself should convey a positive charisma of innovation, departure and sustainability through an appealing and functional architecture and a coherent overall plan and combine the various elements and activities of the farm to a large and whole. The system should be planned and built in such a way that it appears organic and promotes a fruitful exchange between the various interest groups on site. On the farm, people work, sell, demonstrate, research, teach, live, discuss, dream and relax, and accordingly infrastructure, rooms and places are needed that enable and promote these activities.

Building with pressed and stabilized adobe bricks

We build with pressed clay bricks from local, clayey soil, to which approx. 8 percent by volume of cement is buried. This is ecological, inexpensive, innovative, flexible and can be implemented with the village population. The moisture-regulating properties of the earth blocks enable a pleasant room climate and protect against mold. During the construction of the warehouse, we already gained our first experience with building with pressed clay bricks, a construction method that convinced us.

Training of local bricklayers to set up the farm's own brick factory

We were able to purchase our own brick press, test it in Zurich and ship it to Togo. This is the cornerstone for building a local brick factory on the FeMoDo model and research farm. Local masons in the village are trained in the production of the bricks as well as in building with the mud bricks. For this we work together with the Shechem farm in Togo.

 Clay brick production in pictures 

 Well supported and sustainably secured 

Cement-free construction

Cement-free construction

We are exchanging ideas with Gnanli Landrou, a PhD researcher from the innovative start-up Oxara in Zurich, which wants to revolutionise earthen construction. They have developed a mineral-based binder that might enable us in the future to press bricks completely without the climate-polluting cement.

Promoting young talent.

Promoting young talent.

Dosseh SOKEGBE, an extraordinarily motivated young man from the village, has actively supported us. He wants to study civil engineering and is very interested in brickmaking. We will accompany him in his education and in parallel he will do an apprenticeship on the farm and be involved in all construction activities, so that in the long run he can lead the construction projects on the farm and in the region.

Adapted architecture

Adapted architecture

Daniel Baumann, an architect with around 30 years of planning and building experience, is supporting the project on a voluntary basis. He supports us in the overall planning of the area and in the development of sensible solutions for cost-effective, climate-friendly construction adapted to the region. He plans and draws the upcoming construction projects, in exchange with the experts in Togo.

An own clay pit

An own clay pit

We have obtained a piece of land in the village where we can now mine enough clay for the upcoming construction projects.

Experimental garden

Experimental garden

We have set up a small experimental garden where we test different building methods with the various forms of clay bricks and expose them to the weather. Thus, different wall schemes, foundations, openings, covers, arches and others are tried out. The aim is to find simple and functional solutions for the upcoming buildings, to make the construction method tangible for visitors and to show how ecological construction can be integrated into agriculture in a meaningful way.

Implementation

Implementation

As our first implementation project, we are building a residential building for about 30 people, where we can accommodate employees, researchers, trainees and other visitors. The sustainable construction method with pressed clay bricks is not only ecologically sensible, but also cost-effective and enables a pleasant indoor climate. Local workers are integrated and professionally trained during the construction phase. The residential house can become a model for future buildings in the village.

 With crowd funding support 

The second crowdfunding with the support of the wemakeit climate fund has been successfully completed.

For the further development of the farm's own brick factory and the coming construction projects, we are dependent on further donations. We launched a second crowdfunding on October 31, which is again supported by the wemakeit climate fund with CHF 25,000. 220 donors have donated CHF 31,613, with the contribution from wemakeit that makes a total of CHF 56,613! Many thanks to everyone for their generous support.  You have helped  that sustainable building can be realized in the region.

Image2.png
bottom of page

Bildschirmfoto 2020-03-06 um 13.29.12.jp

Bâtiments et architecture

  • Auf LinkedIn teilen

Le deuxième financement participatif avec le soutien du fonds climatique wemakeit s'est achevé avec succès.

Pour le développement ultérieur de la propre usine de briques de la ferme et les projets de construction à venir, nous dépendons d'autres dons. Nous avons lancé un deuxième financement participatif le 31 octobre, qui est à nouveau soutenu par le fonds climatique wemakeit à hauteur de 25 000 CHF. 220 donateurs ont fait un don de CHF 31 613, avec la contribution de wemakeit qui fait un total de CHF 56 613 ! Un grand merci à tous pour leur généreux soutien.  vous avez aidé  que la construction durable peut être réalisée dans la région.

Bild2.png

 De quoi s'agit-il? 

La plupart des maisons de Donomadé sont des bâtiments traditionnels en adobe avec un toit de chaume. Ces bâtiments sont écologiques et relativement frais. Mais ils nécessitent également beaucoup d'entretien, sont sujets à la pluie et au feu et ne permettent que des conceptions très limitées. Enfin, ce type de construction est associé à la pauvreté et au retard de la population togolaise. La seule alternative que l'on puisse trouver sont les maisons en ciment et en tôle ondulée. Bien qu'ils soient plus robustes que l'argile, ils ne sont pas écologiques et ont un climat intérieur nettement plus pauvre.

IMG_1731.JPG

La construction conventionnelle permet peu de qualité de vie.

La production de ciment tente à elle seule de produire 7% des émissions de CO2 dans le monde. Le secteur de la construction est confronté à d'importants défis environnementaux. Avec notre projet de crowdfunding, nous soutenons la construction en briques, qui permet de construire des maisons bon marché et écologiques, offrant une qualité de vie nettement supérieure à celle des cabanes en ciment. La terre argileuse peut en outre être extraite et comprimée sur place. Cela permet de transporter beaucoup moins de matériaux et d'économiser des coûts inutiles. 

Quels sont les objectifs ?

Crowdfunding_gruppenfoto.jpeg
K1024__MG_0153.JPG

La durabilité au-delà de l'agriculture.

Non seulement dans l'agriculture, mais aussi dans la construction, nous essayons de réaliser une modernisation écologique avec des ressources locales, ce qui à long terme représente une meilleure qualité de vie pour la population régionale et favorise la valeur ajoutée dans la région. De plus, la ferme elle-même doit véhiculer un charisme positif d'innovation, de changement et de durabilité à travers une architecture attrayante et fonctionnelle et un plan d'ensemble cohérent et combiner les divers éléments et activités de la ferme à un grand et un tout. Le système doit être planifié et construit de manière à apparaître organique et à favoriser un échange fructueux entre les différents groupes d'intérêt sur place. À la ferme, les gens travaillent, vendent, font des démonstrations, font des recherches, enseignent, vivent, discutent, rêvent et se détendent et, par conséquent, des infrastructures, des salles et des lieux sont nécessaires pour permettre et promouvoir ces activités.

Construire avec des briques d'adobe pressées et stabilisées

Nous construisons avec des briques d'argile pressée provenant d'un sol argileux local, dans lequel environ 8 pour cent en volume de ciment sont enfouis. C'est écologique, peu coûteux, innovant, flexible et peut être mis en œuvre avec la population du village. Les propriétés régulatrices d'humidité des blocs de terre permettent un climat ambiant agréable et protègent contre la moisissure. Lors de la construction de l'entrepôt, nous avons déjà acquis notre première expérience avec la construction en briques d'argile pressée, une méthode de construction qui nous a convaincus.

Formation de maçons locaux pour monter la briqueterie de la ferme

Nous avons pu acheter notre propre presse à briques, la tester à Zurich et l'expédier au Togo. C'est la pierre angulaire de la construction d'une briqueterie locale sur le modèle FeMoDo et d'une ferme de recherche. Les maçons locaux du village sont formés à la production de briques ainsi qu'à la construction en briques crues. Pour cela, nous collaborons avec la ferme Shechem au Togo.

 La production Adobe en images 

 Gut abgestützt und nachhaltig gesichert 

Construction sans ciment

Construction sans ciment

Nous sommes en train d'échanger avec Gnanli Landrou, un docteur en recherche du startup Oxara à Zurich, qui souhaite révolutionner la construction en terre. Ils ont mis au point un liant à base de minéraux qui pourrait nous permettre à l'avenir de fabriquer des briques sans avoir recours au ciment, qui a un impact négatif sur le climat.

Promotion des jeunes talents

Promotion des jeunes talents

Dosseh SOKEGBE, un jeune homme du village extraordinairement motivé, nous a apporté un soutien actif. Il souhaite faire des études d'ingénieur civil et est très intéressé par la fabrication de briques. Nous allons l'accompagner dans sa formation et, en parallèle, il fera un apprentissage à la ferme et sera impliqué dans toutes les activités de construction afin qu'il puisse, à terme, gérer les projets de construction à la ferme et dans la région.

Architecture adaptée

Architecture adaptée

Daniel Baumann, architecte avec une expérience d'environ 30 ans dans la planification et la construction, accompagne le projet à titre bénévole. Il nous soutient dans la planification globale du site et dans le développement de solutions judicieuses pour une construction économique, respectueuse du climat et adaptée à la région. Il planifie et dessine les projets de construction à venir, en échangeant avec les experts au Togo.

Une carrière d'argile personnelle

Une carrière d'argile personnelle

Nous avons sécurisé un terrain dans le village, où nous pouvons désormais extraire suffisamment d'argile pour les projets de construction à venir.

Un  jardin expérimental

Un jardin expérimental

Nous avons créé un petit jardin expérimental où nous testons différentes méthodes de construction avec les différentes formes de briques d'argile et les exposons aux intempéries. Ainsi, différents schémas de maçonnerie, fondations, ouvertures, couvertures, arcs et autres sont testés. L'objectif est de trouver des solutions simples et fonctionnelles pour les constructions à venir, de rendre le mode de construction tangible pour les visiteurs et de montrer comment la construction écologique peut ê

Mise en oevre concrete

Mise en oevre concrete

Comme premier projet de mise en œuvre, nous construisons une maison d'habitation pour environ 30 personnes, où nous pouvons héberger des employés, des chercheurs, des apprentis et d'autres visiteurs. La construction durable en briques d'argile compressées n'est pas seulement écologique, elle est également économique et permet de créer un climat intérieur agréable. Les ouvriers locaux sont intégrés et formés professionnellement pendant la phase de construction. La maison d'habitation peut devenir